Passover is a holiday that has special meaning to everyone, regardless of faith, because it's the time of year when some food and drink companies release products sweetened with real sugar instead of high fructose corn syrup (HFCS). If you want to stock up on real sugar Coca-cola or u-bet chocolate syrup, or if you just want to see whether you can really taste a difference between HFCS and cane or beet sugar, now's your chance.
Passover will begin at sunset on Wednesday, April 8th this year, and last until April 15th, and although normally corn isn't an issue, the special kosher requirements of Passover forbid grain-based foods—hence the ban on HFCS. Gut yontev! Google has made me a Jewish scholar! I think this also means that I am a man now.
Anyway, non-HFCS products should be appearing on shelves now or in the next couple of weeks, so be on the lookout for them. Here are some photos of products to show you what to look for.
Post a Comment